Between My Finger and Thumb… (Harper Lee Emulation)

Stage 1: Between my finger and my thumb lie the fingers of my parents guiding me into this world.

 Stage 2: Between my finger and my thumb lies a pencil, learning how to get my thoughts into words.

 Stage 3: Between my finger and my thumb lies a hand, the same hand that had guided me into this world and given me a chance to live.

The same hand but,

this time cold.

 Stage 4: Between my finger and my thumb lie the hands of my mother as a gesture of support.

The same hands that carried me through this world and taught me how to survive in such a society.

The same hands that are now wrinkled in complexion and weak in strength as not much flows through the antique veins any longer.

 Stage 5: Between my finger and my thumb lies the pencil, but this time nervously.

Nervously because this time I authorize the statement of assisted suicide for my mother who has lost all sense of memory and doesn’t deserve to deal with such pain.

The same mother who repeatedly called my name without hesitation to call me to the dinner table.

But this time hesitates in even remembering me.

 Stage 6: Between my finger and my thumb lies a hand as a gesture of hope.

But this time, it is the hand of my soul mate, comforting me as I explain my life story.

 Stage 7: Between my finger and my thumb lies the hand of my soul mate.

This time walking me to the stage of a new beginning.

Walking me to our wedding stage.

Stage 8: Between my finger and my thumb lies the hand of our creation as I guide her into this world.

Stage 9: Between my finger and my thumb lies the hand of my daughter as I teach her how to get her thoughts into words.

Stage 10: Between my finger and my thumb lie the hands of my soul mate and daughter as I lay there in the hospital bed.

Stage 11: Between my finger and my thumb lie the many cords and pipes trying to pump life into me once again.

Stage 12: Between my finger and my thumb lie the hands of my family as I slowly decide to fade away.

Stage 13: Between my finger and thumb lie the hands of my very own parents as I have now… joined them.

—–     This poetical piece was inspired by a writing seminar exploring the works of Seamus Heaney. Specifically by the piece called ”Digging.” In all my intention for this poem was to represent the cycle of life in my eyes. The first time reading this is simply for pleasure in getting to the end, however when reading twice you begin to see the connections I have made between the different things that happen in life and how it all composes into one cycle. However despite all of that, life is a cycle that goes on forever and no matter what we encounter we simply have to move on and remember that we will leave this world at one point to, so why not look at the bright side of going to the same place as your loved ones. Just as in this piece I end with:

“Between my finger and my thumb lie the hands of my very own parents as I have now joined them.”

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/124341639684077966/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/124341639684077966/

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *