Aylan —Emulation

Ayaln.

What joys you have brought to my life.

You have made it far easier to live.

As I return from a 12 hour shift, I am greeted by your lovely soul.

So innocent yet admirable.

You are my son, the light that pulls me into orbit when I think I am falling apart.

I do not know where I would be without your presence.

You give me no choice to be sad or ungrateful,

Because with you in my arms I am most grateful as can be.

I long to have you in my arms once again…

Who was I to tell you not to worry?

Who was I to tell you that you will always be safe as long as you were in my arms?

Who was I?

But what was I to do?

All I wanted was for you to be safe and live a better life.

I wanted to take you away from:

The violence.

The corrupt government collapsing in on itself.

The unsafe conditions of a forgotten generation.

Looking at the facts:

13.5 million need humanitarian assistance.

4.6 million have been labelled as refugees.

6.6 million displaced.

We were just a family trying to escape violence.

Trying to escape from the sites of our very own neighborhoods bombed.

We were a tiny spec in the expanse of a much greater ocean.

We travel away from our countries in hopes to find a peaceful stance where we are allowed to breathe finally.

To finally go to a place that values something other than war and blood.

To find a place where I could have raised you.

We all jump on to the float boats without even thinking because after all

it is a better place than this so called home.

We travel day and night in the expanse of the great ocean, not knowing where we are.

We travel in the expanse of the great ocean with hunger in our belly’s.

We travel in the expanse of the great ocean for nothing but a better place to live.

For nothing but a place that values something other than war and blood.

But how can we forget the judgments?

How can we forget being labeled by others in society?

How can we forget when I am reminded of your loss every day?.

A Turkish gendarmerie stands next to a young migrant, who drowned in a failed attempt to sail to the Greek island of Kos, as he lies on the shore in the coastal town of Bodrum, Turkey

Photo Credits:

  • http://i100.independent.co.uk/article/the-story-of-aylan-the-syrian-boy-whose-photo-has-shocked-europe–b197lJBKrl

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *